top of page

Mayor Pie: 'Behind the brand'

MANILA, Philippines - The past decade has seen a boom in the e-commerce industry worldwide. From Net-A-Porter, which gets more than two million unique visits in a month, to Moda Operandi, where you can score fresh off-the-runway pieces with just one click, nowadays, shopping is really just as fast as your Internet connection. Locally, we also have homegrown digital boutiques that carry curated pieces like AVA, Vito Studio, and Zalora. Here at YStyle, we give you an exclusive first look at the newest online shopping destination — Love, Candypie — and a conversation with its founder, San Vicente, Palawan mayor Pie Alvarez.


Toss the Feathers: Kelsey wears a textured confection from Australian label IXIAH: A slinky short dress with feather detail.

YSTYLE: Who’s behind the brand?


PIE ALVAREZ: I’m the mastermind of the Love, Candypie brand. I have tapped Raymond Gutierrez to be LCP’s creative director for branding. Team LCP consists of fashion curators, brand and marketing associates, social media managers, photographers, stylists and digital design associates.


Why the name Love, Candypie?


I came up with the Love, Candypie name because I wanted to create an iconic brand that was inspired by a real story, a real voice, and a real need. Ever since I was little, my dad nicknamed me Candypie. The sub nickname “Pie” was what I chose to go by. My father is a businessman and since he inspired me to do this, I thought it would be meaningful to name my venture after the nickname he gave me.


Tell us a brief story about how the idea was conceived?


It was during my 27th birthday last year when I began brainstorming on a business I could start while still being mayor of San Vicente, Palawan. I wanted to create a brand that best represented my interests and experience. I graduated with a degree in business and entrepreneurship from Babson College, I was a previous Chanel employee and now I have the responsibility of leading a town that is going to be the next big tourism destination in the Philippines. With my hectic work schedule, I would always buy my clothes online. In fact, I am a reformed online shopping addict. There is just so much convenience and variety in selection with international online shopping sites like netaporter.com, shopbop.com, et cetera. Online shoppers today are given unprecedented access to the latest looks of the season. Then it dawned on me, there wasn’t really much in our local market that catered to my kind of lifestyle or to my needs as a consumer. I have a great appreciation for beautifully made clothes and stylish design. For me, fashion today is about mixing it up, high-low style. There’s definitely more personality. I didn’t want to pay high fashion prices all the time nor did I want to resort to only shopping in fast fashion outlets. I craved fashion with substance. And that is what I believe LCP will provide.


Who curates the brands?


I, along with the curators of Team LCP, handpick the standout pieces from each range and season.


Who is the Love, Candypie woman?


There is no limit as to who the LCP woman is. She could be a jetsetter, a chic corporate executive, a fashionable stay-at-home mom, art aficionado, an it-girl, a stylish celebrity. The LCP woman knows style — she lives and carries it well. She is constantly on the go yet knows how to unwind, kick off her heels, and party. She is fun and bubbly, worldly and sophisticated. She embraces femininity, lives luxuriously, and values quality. She prioritizes the way she presents herself to the outside world. Her wardrobe is an expression of her interesting character. One day she’s sweet and understated in a lace maxi, the next she’s boldly daring and seductive in a fringe cover-up. Welcome to the LCP Woman’s never-ending dress-up party!


You currently carry an all-Aussie lineup of brands in the website, what can we expect from Love, Candypie? Will more brands come in in the future?


We are starting our curation with 11 amazing Australian labels. These include Winona, Shona Joy, Cameo, Maurie & Eve, Nicola Finetti, Love Honor, Finders Keepers, Nobody Denim, Keepsake The Label, Ixiah and The Fifth Label. Each one has a distinct style and personality that will be perfect for all our different LCP girls. All these brands aren’t readily available in our local retail selection so it’s great to have them on board, especially since most of our clients have been following these amazing Australian designers already. We are not limiting ourselves to just Australian labels, of course. We plan to go around the world and bring in the most amazing fashion finds to all our LCP girls.



Read more: http://www.philstar.com/ystyle/2015/02/27/1427916/digital-darling

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page